FFA awards given at 53rd banquet

A capacity crowd gathered at Eagle Point High School on April 30 to honor Eagle Point FFA students and community members for the 53rd time.
As is the custom for just about all large Eagle Point gatherings, Mel Morris, headed up the BBQ with able assistance from his wife, Diane, Bob Wille, John Dimick and Tracy Anderson.

The evening took on a meaning beyond the normal awards and recognition as
the Garden of Eagles was dedicated. The Garden is located in the atrium
and features stepping stones bearing the names of Eagle Point High
School students who died either while students or after graduation.
Garden of Eagles began with the Class of 2005 and their advisor,
Rebecca Mealy, as they began raising money for the project. Last
summer, groundskeeper Jimmy Long brought the project to the attention
of Keith Frost and soon it became a project of the landscaping class.
The class made the design, drew the plans, excavated, ordered plants,
soil, and created a water feature. As a financial need arose, the Eagle
Point Booster Club stepped in and donated matching funds to finish the
Dan Jansen, PhD was the guest speaker. Dr. Jansen
is the National Curriculum Director for the Council of Agricultural
Science Education. He was raised in Forest Grove and received his
degrees from Oregon State University.  He focused his presentation on
Eagle Point FFA President Kayla Roberts
presided over the evening’s ceremony with members presenting the awards
and explaining what each student did to earn the award.
were selected by the advisory committee after making home visits to
view a student’s project and to talk to the student.
are two types of awards- "placement," wherein a student works for
another person or firm and "entrepreneurship" where the student is
involved in ownership of the product.
Awards are as follows:
Greenhand Activity: Wade McCready, Jordan Henderson, Kirsten Burroughs,
Tasha Risley, Emily Lopez, Stephanie Kerr, Ashleigh Young, Alex Bates,
Hannah Strong and Sherilyn McGahue.
    Agricultural Communications- Brendan Kelley
    Ag Education- Kayla Roberts
    Ag Mechanics- Mike Eary
    Ag Processing- Clinton North
    Ag Sales- Cameron Deupree
    Ag Services- Kevin Leonardo
    Beef Production Entrepreneurship-Kayla Roberts
    Beef Production Placement- Alex Bates
    Diversified Ag Production- Kevin Leonardo
    Diversified Crop Production- Kevin Leonardo
    Diversified Livestock Entrepreneurship- Clinton North
    Diversified Livestock Placement- Mason Wolf
    Equine Science-Entrepreneurship- Rene Moser
    Equine Science Placement- Dominique Martinez
    Floriculture- Emily Lopez
    Food Science & Technology- Cameron Deupree
    Forage Production- Kevin Leonardo
    Forest Management- Cameron Deupree
    Fruit Production- Amanda Vargas
    Home & Community Development- Brittney Carlton
    Horticulture Proficiency- Sarah Heath
    Landscape Management- Brendan Kelley
    Outdoor Recreation- Sarah Heath
    Public speaking- Two awards- Sophomore Public Speaking- Kristin Wyatt and Advanced Public Speaking Amanda Vargas
    Poultry production- Clinton North
    Sheep Production Entrepreneurship- Jordan Marlia    
    Sheep Production Placement- Michael Eary
    Specialty Animal Production- Brendan Kelley
    Specialty Crop Production- Thomas Thickett    
    Swine Production- Kristin Wyatt
    Turfgrass Management- Thomas Thickett
    Vegetable Production- Clinton North
    Wildlife Management- Chapter, District & State Winner- Cameron Deupree
    Phil Deupree Memorial Scholarship- Kevin Leonardo
    Bill Morgan Memorial Scholarship- Amanda Vargas
    Ed Kleker Memorial Scholarship- Cameron Deupree
    Dave Poole Memorial Scholarship- Rene Moser
    Tim Trautman Memorial- Three scholarships-JanaMae Boren, Jordan Marlia and Sarah Heath
Outstanding Member of the Year- Jordan Marlia
Star Greenhand- Alex Bates
Awards are given by the Advisory Committee to Cameron Deupree, Star in
Agribusiness and Michael Early, Star in Agricultural Placement.
And the 2008 Star Chapter Farmer, as decided by a panel of industry experts, Kayla Roberts.

Adult honors included:
Distinguished Service Awards were given to Don Bergrin, Diamond B Ranch and Bruce Childers, buyer for Lithia Motors.
FFA degrees were awarded Jeanna Meyer,  wife of the Diamond B Ranch
Manager, Gary Meyer, and Mckael Ziegler, EPHS botany instructor.
Chapter officers: President- Kayla Roberts, Vice-President- Mike Eary,
Seretary- Kevin Leonardo, Treasurer- Jordan Marlia, Reporter- Brendan
Kelley and Sentinel- Cameron Deupree.
2008-09 Chapter
officers- President- Krisin Wyatt, Vice President-Jo-C Henderson,
Secretary- Brendan Kelley, Treasurer- Hannah Mason, Reporter- Ashley
Bidwell and Sentinel- Travys Olsen.
By Nancy Leonard
Of the Independent


Speak Your Mind