EPHS FFA Judging Team results

L to R: Mason Wolfe, Matt Broadie, Brendan Kelley, Amanda Vargas, Mike Eary, Jo-C Henderson, Kristin Wyatt, Phoenix member, Hannah Mason, Ashleigh Young, Alex Bates.
L to R: Mason Wolfe, Matt Broadie, Brendan Kelley, Amanda Vargas, Mike Eary, Jo-C Henderson, Kristin Wyatt, Phoenix member, Hannah Mason, Ashleigh Young, Alex Bates.

Eagle Point FFA has placed 1st in four of the seven livestock judging contest this season and 2nd to Crater in the other three. "It will all come down to the state championship" said Advisor Keith Frost. The title contest will take place at the Oregon State Fair on the 25th of August in Salem. Eagle Point FFA hopes to extend their season by winning the state championship and earning the privilege to represent Oregon at the national contest held in Indianapolis this October.


The state championship will not come easy they will have to beat out a
strong Crater team that have been the only team to edge out the Eagle
Point group all season. They will also have to beat the defending state
Champions from Cove, Oregon, who have placed in the top three in the
last three contests. FFA advisor Curtis North had this to say "A win at
state would be nice but these kids are already campions in our minds
because of the amount of effort and dedication they have shown to grow
to where they are today. We are especially proud of their level of
professionalism in preparation, victory, and defeat."
fair judging season started out with Eagle Point FFA receiving top
honors at their home contest at the Jackson County Fair. The contest
consisted of classes of market steers, slaughter cattle grading, market
hogs, breeding gilts, market lambs, breeding ewes, and market goats and
two sets of oral reasons.
This was a very important win
because this contest kicked off the summer livestock judging season.
The Eagle Point win edged Crater FFA out by 4 points. Phoenix FFA came
in third. Individually, Eagle Point had four members in top ten. Kayla
Roberts was 2nd, Kristin Wyatt came in 3rd, Amanda Vargas received 6th,
and Brendan Kelley was 9th. Other members competing included Rene
Moser, Alex Bates, Heidi McGrath, Jo-C Henderson, Dominique Martinez,
and Ashley Bidwell.
Brendan Kelley says "This win reinforces
our confidence in our teams’ ability to compete at the state level."
Amanda Vargas, referring to the teams win at the State CDE days and
Jackson County says "I am proud to see two new blue banners in our ag
classroom to kick off this season."

Other results from the 2008 season:
Contest    Team placing    Top ten individuals
Oregon State CDE    1st    2nd Amanda Vargas, 3rd Brendan Kelley, 5th Kristin Wyatt, 6th Kayla Roberts
Jackson County    1st    1st Kayla Roberts, 3rd Kristin Wyatt, 6th Amanda Vargas, 9th Brendan Kelley
Deschutes County    2nd    2nd Rene Moser, 4th Brendan Kelly, 5th Amanda Vargas, 7th Kristin Wyatt, 8th Michael Eary
County    1st    1st Kayla Roberts, 4th Amanda Vargas, 5th Michael
Eary, 6th  Brendan Kelley, 7th, Kristin Wyatt, 8th Jo-C Henderson
Douglas County    2nd    2nd Rene Moser, 4th Kristin Wyatt
County    1st    1st Amanda Vargas, 2nd Kayla Roberts, 4th Kristin
Wyatt, 5th Michael Eary, 7th Brendan Kelley, 8th Rene Moser
Klamath County    2nd    1st Kristin Wyatt, 4th Amanda Vargas
Josephine County    2nd    1st Kayla Roberts Individual, 2nd Brendan Kelley, 7th Kristin Wyatt.

Speak Your Mind