Upper Rogue Community Center honors many caring citizens

Where there’s a will there’s a way, according to the old proverb. This proved to be true at the Upper Rogue Community Center’s Founder’s Day and Awards Dinner on October 24. Executive Director, Steve Hauck, was out of town attending the 2009 Oregon Public Transportation Conference but there was one award Hauck wanted to personally present. That was the Unsung Hero Award that would go to Samanthy Eyman, Administrative Services Manager.

From Seaside and over a phone that was hooked to a microphone, Hauck gave Eyman the award. She was honored for her professionalism in administering the volunteer program, emergency services, scheduling and dispatching of van drivers, posting primary financial data, answering phones and more. Working with the public, such as clients seeking emergency assistance, Eyman accorded everyone with respect and honor.

At one o’clock each day, however, Eyman goes home and volunteers step in for the afternoon. Lynda Johnson is known for filling in wherever needed, including many times in Eyman’s office. Her voice is also recognized by regular callers. Johnson received the Volunteer of the Year Award for her continual work since 1999. Johnson is known for her skills and personal touch in sensitive matters and she can always be counted on when needed.

Presenting Johnson with the award was her husband, Stan, Chair of the URCC Board of Directors. Johnson (Stan) garnered the prestigious Spirit of the Upper Rogue Award for his distinctive service and untiring work at the center whether it is running a meeting, repairing vehicles or the building and as duck master. Over the years, Johnson has helped countless people from kids to seniors.

Johnson can tell you, running the community center takes money. During the past year PremierWest Bank partnered with URCC on the Energy Tax Credit program. As a result in 2009, PremierWest Manager and URCC Board Member, David Rayburn, presented the center with a check for $25,500 for the Transportation Program. That money helped to restore lost hours of van service after severe cuts in state funding. PremierWest got the Community Partner of the Year Award.

Fire District 4 also partnered with the community center by cooking lunch for seniors on many Wednesdays for the past few years. It is always fun when the men and women of the FD4 Support group use their culinary expertise to prepare a special lunch. FD4 has also participated in the Chili Cook-off for the past 15 years. That event brings in funds for programs at the center. The FD4 Support Group is the Community Organization of the Year.

Linda Smith may not cook lunch at URCC but after tirelessly volunteering since 2002 she garnered the Unsung Volunteer Award. Smith is a member of the board, works in the Food Pantry and thrift store. Without compensation or wide recognition, Smith also donates items weekly to the pantry and delivers clothing to the Gospel Mission in Medford.

Other volunteers received Notable Service Awards for recognition of superior and long hours of outstanding service. The hours volunteered ranged from 479 down to 100 hours in 2009. Receiving this award were Limarie Hulsey, Linda Smith, Evan Shriner, Virginia Rigel, Pat Brooks, Lynda Johnson, Stan Johnson, Claudia Hayes, Murray Cook, Jennie Young, Loretta Shiner, Scarlet Miles, Dewey Hulsey, Matt Morey and Carla Morey.

Last but not least were Volunteer Appreciation Awards given to Ivorene Carlton, Sandi Dennis, Roy Eyman, Ruby Gee, Jana Haberman, Jane Hagan, Bob Harris, Bob Hawkins, Daryl (Dee) Hawkins, Lois Holland, Maxine Jaworski, Lind Larson, Mickey Manire, David Rayburn, Frank Reed, Bud Rees, Dee Rowe, Judy Shanrock, Olin Shanrock, June Sutherland, Chuck Tumey and Abra Vargas.

The awards were presented by Stan Johnson and Vice President of the URCC Board, Dee Hawkins.
By Margaret Bradburn
Of the Independent

Speak Your Mind