Under the offense of “Unlawfully Transporting Metal Property”, most persons transporting metal property on a public highway or on a premises open to the public with the intent to deliver to a scrap metal business must possess a Metal Transportation Certificate.
As part of a requirement of SB 570, Oregon State Police (OSP) was required to create the Metal Transportation Certificate form and make it available on the Department’s website at www.oregon.gov/OSP. A link is now available through the OSP website “Related Links” section. The accessible form may be printed for completion to have in one’s possession when transporting metal property as required.”Unlawfully Transporting Metal Property” is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine up to $1,250 and / or a maximum of 30 days in jail.
An important piece of SB 570 will help law enforcement deliver timely notification to scrap metal businesses within 24 hours of the reported theft of scrap metal. OSP is generating a statewide list of licensed scrap metal businesses for notification purposes. Scrap metal businesses wishing to be on the notification list are asked to please forward their contact information on letterhead either by mail or fax (including the business name, address, phone number, fax number and email address) to:
Sergeant Stephanie Ingraham
Oregon State Police Criminal Investigations Division
255 Capitol St 4th Floor
Salem, Oregon 97310
or Fax: (503) 363-5475
Following is the section of Senate Bill 570 covering transportation of metal property:
SECTION 3. (1) A person commits the offense of unlawfully transporting metal property if the person transports metal property on a public highway or on premises open to the public with the intent to deliver the metal property to a scrap metal business and the person does not have a metal transportation certificate in the person’s possession.
(2) A seller or transferor of metal property that has reason to believe that a buyer or transferee intends to obtain the metal property for delivery to a scrap metal business shall provide the buyer or transferee with a metal transportation certificate.
(3) A metal transportation certificate must include:
(a) The date the metal property was acquired and the amount and type of metal property that the person is transporting;
(b) The location where the metal property was loaded and the destination of the metal property;
(c) The name, address and telephone number of the seller or the transferor;
(d) The signature of the seller or transferor or the authorized agent of the seller or transferor; and
(e) The name, address and telephone number of the person transporting the metal property.
(4) The Department of State Police shall create a form that may serve as a metal transportation certificate and shall make the form available on the department’s website.
(5) It is a defense to a charge of unlawfully transporting metal property that the person transporting the metal property is the owner of the property or an agent or employee of the owner of the property.
(6) Unlawfully transporting metal property is a Class C misdemeanor.
Link to Senate Bill 570 – http://www.oregondec.org/legislation/2009-OR-SB570.pdf