EP wrestlers win district, 16 head to state

Earning the title of  District Champions hasn’t happened for five years, but last weekend in Klamath Falls, Eagle Point earned 441 points to Crater’s 391.

The Eagles have seven champions. They are: Aaron Lorenz- 103 lbs., Ben Zomerdyk- 125, Trent Kaiser- 135, Chris Wilson-140, Dan Morgan- 152 , Stephen Josephson- 160 and Gage Baumer- 171.  In addition to the champions, the other EPHS wrestlers heading to state include: Orlando De La Cruz- 3rd- 103, Dallas Compton 3rd-119, Taylor Mitchell 3rd- 12, Travis Woods 2nd- 140, Jake Gallo- 3rd-152, Edward Martinez-3rd-160, Johnny Wilkerson 2nd- 171,  Mario Rivera-3rd-189 and Manuel Valdovinos 3rd-285.

EPHS Coach Kacey McNulty received Coach of the Year by unanimous vote.

Zomerdyk was named Outstanding Wrestler of the Tournament (under 145 lbs.) He is the son of Tim and Jenny (who is the receptionist/bookkeeper at the Independent) Zomerdyk.  Zomerdyk upset Skyler Prislac of Crater.

Also named as  outstanding wrestler (over 145 lbs.) was Christian Ostmo, 189 lb. of Ashland. He is the grandson  of Leif and Marie  Ostmo of Eagle Point.

The Eagles will be sending 16 to the state tournament this weekend in Portland.

Check with EPHS for the date and time for a sendoff.

Speak Your Mind