Butte Falls 4th of July

Tucked in the hills east of Highways 62 and 234, this town of  450 residents drew loyal regulars to its annual Independence Day festivities. Eagle Point citizen, Debbi  Bowman said she liked the “nice, hometown feel” of Butte Falls. “And it’s cooler,” added Debbi’s spouse, Ralph.

Medford  dweller, Cynthia Miller attends with her family each year because “It has a sense of community; a nice, old-fashioned parade, booths, and stuff. They’re  friendly, and  throw candy to the kids.”
Silver-haired, Roy Schnurr’s loyalty to Butte Falls stems from his having been born and raised there. “We didn’t have a hospital,” he said. “We used a midwife to deliver me in a little shack across from that yellow house over there.”


Also among  celebrants seated in curbside lawn chairs—Medford Area entertainers, Don and Bea Johnson, Pat and Bill Thompson. Mingling among  them, her  blouse tailored  with a motif from our nation’s flag, Butte Falls resident, Donna Genarie. She confessed  sporting the patriotic garment twice a year—Memorial Day, and July 4.


Among the booths, Ruth Ann Bray, and Lori Paxton featured one that displayed their artistic talents. Both possess skills as photographers. Bray also paints, and sculpts. Paxton functions as City Recorder, Court Clerk, and Butte Falls

Active Club President.

At 11 a.m., Katie and Collette Bray carried the banner that proclaimed this year’s theme, “America’s Helping Hands.” It garnered a third-prize ribbon among the marchers’ category. Second place went to BF High School cheerleaders, Shelby Retherford, Alixandra Bowen, Trisha Henagin, Jade Blaydes, Sierra White, Mikki McGonagle, and Erika Young. Under the guidance of Nici Miller, who started taking gymnastics at age 2, the squad performed cheers, stunts, and tumbling along the parade route. Their hoorays lauded the U.S.A.

The marching group capturing a first place trophy—Community Bible Choir, rendering “In God We Still Trust,” and America’s National Anthem. Competition Judges, Dan Murphy, Fred Phillips, and Dan Shafer, stood at attention, their hats to their hearts, during the Anthem. The entire audience mirrored these actions. The stallions, however, chose that solemn moment to justify the wisdom of equipping parades with good-natured youngsters employing shovels and wheelbarrows.

Grand Marshal, Ron Hailicka’s 1930 Model A Ford won the best antique autos’ trophy. John Tumey originally purchased the second prize winner, a 1937 Ford coupe, as his first auto, and has owned it for 49 years. Tina Harvey’s vehicle took third place.

Bicyclists’ prizes went to Deven Updike, Robbie Bray and Cooper McBee.

Other youngster taking prizes were Karen Myers and Theresa Ferguson.

Old Time Fiddlers’ Float  netted a trophy—runner-up ribbons going to Dwane Speaker and Riley Pitts.

Among additional winners, Paxton announced—Austin Harvey, Cliff Bartyzal, Barbara Blevins, Don Pedrick, Roy Myers, Joey Dunbar, Chris Hanson, Nick Kelly, Kenny Stanek, Don Nelson, Neal Ellis, Jim Adams, Amy Adams, Bill Moore, Leroy Arnold,  Butte Falls Fire Service Vehicles, US Forest Service, including Smokey Bear.

Patti Shafer heard many compliments for her excellent service as announcer, with  Jared McGonagle functioning as sound engineer.

The Best Booth award went to Ethan Jostad’s Fundraiser.  (See June 28’s Upper Rogue Independent for more information about Ethan.)

After the parade, bingo, hotdogs, brownies, and music completed the sun-filled afternoon’s events.

By F. C. Blake
Of the Independent

Speak Your Mind