EP Golf Club member-guest tourney results

The third annual member-guest tournament at the Eagle Point Golf Course, held on Sept. 16-18, attracted 37 teams with guests arriving from as far away as Nebraska and Arizona.

The event began on Friday with a practice round followed by a skills challenge in the evening.  This challenge involved accumulating points in five different skill areas such as putting, pitching and chipping.  Two leaders then competed to shatter a framed Plexiglas window, as featured on the Golf Channels “The Big Break”.  Steve Howard won the event when his shot went through the glass.

The tournament first round, a two-person scramble, occurred on Saturday with the leaders being acknowledged at that evening’s dinner.  The leaders were Darrell Scott and John Roe in the men’s champions gross division, Lindsey Stockton and Brandon Crosier in the net division, and Cindy Dinwiddie and Rosina White in the ladies net group.

On Sunday the two person best–ball scores were added to Saturday’s totals to crown the overall champions.  The net winners from Saturday continued their winning ways and Lindsey Stockton and Brandon Crosier won the net division with Cindy Dinwiddie and Rosina White the ladies. 

However, the men’s championship gross division ended in a three-way tie when the teams of Bruce and Larry Buehler and Ron Rautenberg and Woody Kinsey tied Scott and Roe, the first round leaders.  A two-hole total score playoff was held to crown the champions.  Everyone parred the first hole but on the second Darrell Scott hit his approach shot to within one foot of the flag which resulted in a birdie three and when added to his partner John Roe’s par four gave them the victory.  All winners received their awards from head professional, Patrick Oropallo, at the lunch and ceremony that followed.


Speak Your Mind