Eagle Point places time capsule to be opened in 2037

The sun was shining on Feb. 11, 2012 just as it was on Feb. 11, 2011 when Eagle Point began its Centennial celebration. And as some 50 to 75 community members watched the Time Capsule was lowered into the ground only to be opened again in 2037.


Mayor Bob Russell introduced Eagle Point native, 86-year-old Helen Wolgamott who put the first shovel of dirt over the capsule. Wolgamott noted Feb. 11 was also the birth date of her father.


Russell listed various activities that the community celebrated during its Centennial year, which began with the dedication of Centennial Plaza where the Time Capsule is now buried.

Visitors were invited to sign their name for publication, in hopes perhaps 25 years later this issue of the Independent will be retrieved and the names noted. Each issue of the newspaper is on file with the University of Oregon. Names of those present who signed the guest list included: Janet Siedlecki, Nancy Leonard, Richard Gyuro, Kathy Sell, Ruth Jenks, Wayne Brown, Sharon Coupe, Alyce Goodrich, Mike Frey, Tisha Oehmen, Bob Russell, Robert Miller, Winnie Earl, Bill Fierke, Helen Wolgamott, Dave Hussell, Melissa Owen, Gayle Schanck, Jonathan and Elizabeth Bilden, Bunny Lincoln, Kitt Florell, Charles W. Brown, Henry Lawrence, Lyn Lawrence, Edith and Leon Sherman, Ann Grossman, Gary Shipley, Josiah Miller, Vern Thompson, Mark Cook, Eliana Miller, Bethany Miller, Caitlin Boyd, Zore Fuller, and Sara Miller.

By Nancy Leonard
Of the Independent


Speak Your Mind