Late model mayhem

Southern Oregon Speedway hosted a night of Late Model, Pro-Mod, Super 4, Street Stock, Mini Stock and Sprint car racing on Saturday, Jul. 28th. Main event winners were John Campos, Donald Bandfield, Tony Christopher, Duane Orsburn, John Derby, and Garen Linder.

John Campos won the Late Models group in a total time of 3:57.786 and with a best time of 14.581.

Donald Bandfield got his first A Main victory with a total time of 4:15.625 and a 16.163 best time.

Tony Christopher took the Super 4 group in 10:16.725 total time. His best time was 15.537.

In the Street Stock group, Duane Orsburn won in 4:47.054 total time, finishing 14.430 ahead of the second place finisher, Tyler Lockwood. Orsburn’s best time was 17.124.

John Derby claimed his first win of the season in the Mini Stock group with a 5:03.641 total time and an 18.807 best time.

Garen Linder dominated the Sprint car main event. Linder lapped all competitors and finished with a 14:54.255 total time and a 12.812 best time.

Local racers this evening included Jon DeBenedetti from Rogue River, and Billy Nutter from Central Point. DeBenedetti won the trophy dash in the Late Models, and Nutter won the trophy dash in the Sprint cars. Both racers thanked those who helped build their machines, but DeBenedetti was especially appreciative. His car was not race ready until the morning of the race!

Upcoming events at the Southern Oregon Speedway are: Family Night on Aug. 4th, ISCS Sprint Cars on Aug. 11th, and Big Rig Semi Truck Races on Aug. 18th. All are on Saturdays. General Admission is $10. Seniors, veterans and kids under twelve are $7. Kids under five get in free.


Speak Your Mind