General election candidate results for the upper Rogue area

With only unofficial results from the November 6 general election, it doesn’t appear there were any major surprises among office holders. By a narrow margin in the popular vote, Barack Obama will serve another term as president. Congressman Greg Walden handily won reelection to yet another term as second district congressman.

Some of the election results that will interest local voters were the White City Incorporation ballot and the 10 candidates that threw their hats in the ring for the five positions on the city council. However, that vote was overwhelmingly against incorporation. Some of the organizers of that effort had earlier said they had been working on the process for the past 25 years and it appears those efforts have been in vain.

Another local issue has been the Shady Cove water system, also not the first attempt at that either. Both issues were defeated soundly. More than 76 percent of White City voters rejected the idea and the $1.45/$1,000 tax it would have brought. Sixty five percent of Shady Cove voters did not want to pay for a new water system. Some residents there have begun to wonder what their homes are going to be worth as the wells begin to dry up.

Butte Falls Mayor-elect Fred Phillips ran unopposed, as did position 1 council person Carrie Driskell and position 3 council person Lila McClanahan. Eagle Point Mayor Bob Russell also had no opposition, so was easily re-elected to another two year term. Councilors Aaron Prunty, Bill Fierke and Wayne Brown had no opposition and were returned to their posts for another four-year term.

Shady Cove Mayor Ron Holthusen ran unopposed for a second term and was easily returned to that post. Councilors Leith Hayes and Jim Ulrich were also re-elected to represent residents of the town. Neither Hayes nor Ulrich had opposition for the office.

In state-wide offices, voters preferred Knute Buehler over Kate Brown and Ted Wheeler will apparently serve as State Treasurer. As of this writing, James Buchal and Ellen Rosenblum are in a virtual tie for Attorney General.

State Senator Doug Whitsett ran un-opposed for his seat and State Representatives Dennis Richardson and Mike McClane handily won their races and will be returned to Salem for another term.


Speak Your Mind