2013 Eagle Point FFA banquet

2013 Eagle Point FFA Banquet


Alexa Kaiser, Eagle Point FFA

Chapter Reporter

Banquet, a time for FFA members, parents, and guests to be recognized and congratulated. A time for the community to come together and enjoy laughs, smiles, and good conversation. And don’t forget the incredibly delicious dinner cooked by a wonderful BBQ/kitchen crew. The Banquet was successfully put on by members, advisors, and quests. You could say that the 58th annual Eagle Point FFA parent/member Award Banquet was both successful and enjoyable.

First, we would like to thank the incredible superintendent and school board members: Cynda Rickert, Mark Bateman, Ted Dole, Scott Grissom, Jim Mannenbach, and MaryAnne Olson, Principal of Eagle Point High school: Tim Rupp, Assistant Principals: Tiffany O’Donell and Bryan Wood, Southern Oregon ESD CTE Director and Perkins Grant Coordinator Steve Schilling, Support Staff: Him Long, Marvin Long, Bill Johnson, Brenda Bishop, Jim Bowman, Administrative Assistants: Rebecca Mealy, Jo Cooper, and Bev Vait and the Advisory Board: Linda Anerson, Marti Anerson, Gina Myer, Duane Haas, Matt Boren, Ron Fumasi, Kelly Brainard, and JB Dimick. Plus the honorary members, Keynote speaker Dr. Gail Golbern, and the visiting guests. Thank you all so much for all your support. You mean a lot to the FFA Chapter.

The Eagle Point Chapter is always very pleased to get hard working first year members, and this year it was an honor to have a total of 17 Greenhand degree recipients. The Greenhand degree recipients were Leandra Millard, Branden Reed, Haylee Crow, Taelor Thompson, Jacob Myers, Ryan Gifford, Kinsey Ayres, Zac Short, Alexa Kaiser, Myra Rademacher, Brianna Lewis, Elle Rohde, Baylee Schnider, Cole Johnson, Cody Himes, Jared Wolf, and Megan Hanson. It’s even better that most, if not all, of the Greenhands will move on to earn their Chapter Degrees. These Recipents were Katelyn Helton, Taylor Knight, Seirrah Danielson, Brenna Blankenship, and Ashley Cox. Eagle Point FFA Chapter was also very honored to have two State Degree recipients Nick Wolf and Kayla Artman.

This years Distinguished Service Award went to Mr. Ralph McKechnie from the Upper Rogue Independent and Southern Oregon Ag Online. The Honorary degrees went to Andrea Murdoch and Tim Rupp.

There were 19 proficiency awards won this year. These members go above and beyond to show just how good they are with their projects. Emily Dulany- Diversified Livestock award, Goat Production award, Sheep Production award, Agriculture Education award. Nate Leonardo- Agriculture Processing award, Forage Production Entrepreneurship award, Agriculture Mechanics Design and Fabrication award, Diversified Agriculture Production award, Agriculture Mechanics Repair and Maintenance award. Kayla Artman- Veterinary Medicine, Equine Science Placement award, Equine Science Entrepreneurship award. Kristen Hanson- Agriculture Communications award. Haylee Crowe- Swine Production Entrepreneurship award, Home and Community award. Coleton Curtis- Forage Production Placement award. Leandra Millard- Outdoor Recreation award, Beef Production Placement award, Poultry Production award. Rylee Kuyper- Wildlife Management award. Elle Rohde- Vegetable Production award.

Star Awards don’t just go to anybody. These recipents are dedicated, very hard workers, and above all, true FFA members. Leandra Millard is the Star Greenhand recipient. Emily Dulany is the Star Chapter Farmer recipient. Great job girls!

Eagle Point FFA Chapter was also very excited to award 8,000 dollars in Senior Scholarships. The Gary Meyer Memorial $300 Scholarship goes to Rylee Kuyper. The Wayne Debrick Memorial $300 Scholarship went to Clay DeVette. The Orlyn North Memorial $500 Scholarship went to Emily Dulany. The Frost Family $500 Scholarship went to Savannah Helton. The Ti m Trautman Memorial Scholarship winners are Nick Wolf receiving $400 and Emily Dulany receiving $1000. The Dave Poole $500 Memorial Scholarship went to Kayla Artman. The Eagle Point Alumni $500 scholarship all went to Kayla Artman, Clay DeVette, and Rylee Kuyper. The Eagle Point Alumni 1,000 scholarship went to Nick Wolf and Savannah Helton. And finally, the Eagle Point Alumni $1,500 scholarship went to Emily Dulany.

We topped off this fantastic night off with the new officer installations. I am very happy to say the names of the 2013-2014 officers. President: Katelyn Helton. Vice President: Cole Johnson. Secretary: Brenna Blankenship. Treasurer: Ryan Gifford. Reporter: Alexa Kaiser. And Sentinel: Elle Rohde. But let’s not forget the retiring officers. Last year’s president: Clay DeVette. Vice President: Emily Dulany. Secretary: Savannah Helton. Treasurer: Nick Wolf. Reporter: Kristen Hanson. And Sentinel: Kristen Spielbusch. You guys did a fantastic job last year.

I can’t wait for banquet next year!

Alexa Kaiser, Eagle Point FFA Chapter Reporter





Speak Your Mind